Registration for January-September 2019 MCAT test dates is now open. Visit the to register for the date and location of your choice.

*All MCAT exams will begin at 8 a.m.

2019 MCAT Test Dates

2019 MCAT Test DateScore Release DateSUGGESTED PREP DATES
Friday, January 18, 2019 Wednesday, February 20, 2019 Start September - December
Saturday, January 19, 2019 Wednesday, February 20, 2019 Start September - December
Thursday, January 24, 2019 Tuesday, February 26, 2019 Start September - December
Friday, March 15, 2019 Tuesday, April 16, 2019 Start November - January
Friday, March 29, 2019 Tuesday, April 30, 2019 Start November - January
Friday, April 5, 2019 Tuesday, May 7, 2019 Start December - February
Saturday, April 6, 2019 Tuesday, May 7, 2019 Start December - February
Saturday, April 13, 2019 Tuesday, May 14, 2019 Start December - February
Saturday, May 11, 2019 Tuesday, June 11, 2019 Start January - March
Saturday, May 18, 2019 Tuesday, June 18, 2019 Start January - March
Thursday, May 23, 2019 Tuesday, June 25, 2019 Start January - March
Friday, May 24, 2019 Tuesday, June 25, 2019 Start January - March
Friday, May 31, 2019 Tuesday, July 2, 2019 Start January - March
Saturday, June 1, 2019 Tuesday, July 2, 2019 Start March - April
Saturday, June 15, 2019 Tuesday, July 16, 2019 Start March - April
Friday, June 28, 2019 Tuesday, July 30, 2019 Start March - April
Saturday, June 29, 2019 Tuesday, July 30, 2019 Start March - April
Wednesday, July 10, 2019 Tuesday, August 13, 2019 Start April - May
Saturday, July 13, 2019 Tuesday, August 13, 2019 Start April - May
Friday, July 19, 2019 Tuesday, August 20, 2019 Start April - May
Saturday, July 20, 2019 Tuesday, August 20, 2019 Start April - May
Friday, August 2, 2019 Wednesday, September 4, 2019 Start May - June
Saturday, August 3, 2019 Wednesday, September 4, 2019 Start May - June
Friday, August 9, 2019 Tuesday, September 10, 2019 Start May - June
Saturday, August 17, 2019 Tuesday, September 17, 2019 Start May - June
Friday, August 30, 2019 Tuesday, October 1, 2019 Start May - June
Saturday, August 31, 2019 Tuesday, October 1, 2019 Start May - June
Friday, September 6, 2019 Tuesday, October 8, 2019 Start June - July
Friday, September 13, 2019 Tuesday, October 15, 2019 Start June - July
Saturday, September 14, 2019 Tuesday, October 15, 2019 Start June - July

What is the MCAT?

The Medical College Admission Test or MCAT is a standardized, multiple-choice exam that most medical schools in the U.S. and some in Canada require as part of your application. It's used to assess whether you understand the concepts and principles that are prerequisite to the study of medicine.


How to Register for the MCAT

The MCAT is administered through the Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC). To register for the examination, you must go to their website and register through the .

Although the AAMC provides over 20 test dates per year at hundreds of sites around the world, you shouldn't be tempted to procrastinate about registering. If you do, you may miss out on your desired test date and testing location.

To register for the MCAT, follow these steps:

  • Create an account on the AAMC website before registration opens.
  • Keep track of your username, password and security questions.
  • Provide the personal information needed, ensuring that the data you provide matches the government issued ID you intend to use as identification on the day of your test.
  • Remember that after you've filled out all the personal info, you'll be allowed to register for a test date and pick your preferred location.
  • Click on "Find Seat" to see what's available at your chosen location.
  • If there are seats available, you can register for that test date. If not, search other locations until you find an open seat.
  • Keep in mind that you'll need your credit card information so that you can pay the registration fee.

When to Take the MCAT

When you take the MCAT depends on a few different factors, which you can determine by asking yourself some questions:

  • Are you planning to apply for med school after your fourth year of college, or are you planning on taking a gap year?
  • How much preparation time do you think you'll need?
  • Have you completed all the courses that will be on the MCAT?

By your third year of college, you should figure out the best time to take the MCAT. Ideally, you'll choose a date that allows you to have plenty of time to study. You'll also need to determine when the score release date is so that you're able to submit your MCAT score early in the med school application process.

Most students take the MCAT at the end of their third year of college or the summer before their fourth year. This strategy gives them enough time to be able to retake the exam in the fall of their fourth year if they're dissatisfied with their score. By the time you take your exam, you should have taken the courses you'll need to know information from, including:

  • Biology
  • Physics
  • Organic and inorganic chemistry
  • Biochemistry
  • Psychology
  • Sociology

When to Start Preparing for the MCAT

Many students benefit from three to six months of MCAT preparation. However, you may need more or less time depending on whether you've completed the courses mentioned above and how well you did in each one.


How to Prepare for the MCAT

The best way to prepare for the MCAT is to develop a strong study plan. The new MCAT has no prerequisite courses that you have to take. However, the above-mentioned courses should help you prepare for each section of the exam:

  • Biological and Biochemical Foundations of Living System
  • Psychological, Social and Biological Foundations of Behavior
  • Chemical and Physical Foundations of Biological Systems

There's no right or wrong way to prepare for the MCAT. However, the prep courses put out by the Princeton Review provide exclusive resources to maximize your results.


What to Do on Test Day

It's recommended that you arrive at the testing location 30 minutes before the exam begins. When you show up at the test center, you'll need to check in with the Test Administrator. There are a number of required security measures, including the following steps:

  • Sign in
  • Present the that you used when you registered for the exam
  • Have your palms digitally scanned
  • Have a test-day photograph taken
  • Store your belongings in a locker, including your mobile phone and your snack for the break time

When your name is called, you'll be shown to the testing area. Before entering, you'll have to show that your pockets are empty. If you wear glasses, they'll be checked to ensure there's no attached camera. You'll then be assigned a computer, which is monitored via security camera.

If you need a break, raise your hand, and the Test Administrator will release you for 10 minutes, during which you can eat a snack or use the restroom. Upon your return, you'll need to empty your pockets once more. When you're finished, raise your hand, and you'll be released.


Start Your MCAT Prep Plan Now!

The MCAT may be one of the most important tests of your life. A smart plan can be the difference between a good score and a great one. Your prep plan depends on when you’ll take the test, how you learn best and what you’ll invest in your prep. Go ahead and pick your date and then explore our prep options from self-paced to courses to Private Tutoring for your best score. We guarantee it! *

Need to brush up on a tough topic? MedFlix is your go-to resource for MCAT content review. This series of videos is included in our MCAT Ultimate, Summer Immersion and Self-Paced courses , as well as select Tutoring packages.


*Restrictions apply. Visit PrincetonReview.com/Guarantee for full details.